Skip to content ↓

Terrington St Clement Community School

A traditional school with traditional values where

we aspire, succeed and thrive


Ofsted September 2018 said:

"Governors are highly effective in their roles. They share the high aspirations of school leaders and work with a strong determination to sustain the good quality of education. Governors have a good range of skills and actively seek other members to make their governing body stronger. They keep their knowledge up to date through training and regularly review how well their own actions help the school to improve."

For all information about the formation of our governing body members including membership of committees, please look at the tabs on the left and look at the terms of reference. This details their roles and responsibilities, when the committees were formed and when their terms of office come to an end. All governor information is updated during the autumn term as each meeting takes place.

Mrs Helen Garrett - Chair of Governors and Chair of the Finance and General Purposes / Staff Performance and Development Committee 

Mrs Garrett is responsible for making sure leaders manage the allocated budget wisely to meet the needs of the school. She also serves as the school governor representative on the local cluster of schools SEN budgeting committee to make sure SEN funds are allocated and used appropriately. She attends all finance meetings with the Finance Support Officer from Norfolk County Council and reports back to committee governors. Helen also monitors the impact of SEN spending decisions by monitoring how well leaders meet the needs of pupils with SEN. This includes monitoring the effectiveness of the speech and language SRB which is funded by Norfolk County Council and East Coast Community Healthcare. Helen also holds leaders to account for the effective use of both pupil premium funding and sports premium funding 

Mr Nic Bouskill - Co-opted Governor, Vice Chair of Governors and Chair of Learning and Achievement Committee  

Mr Bouskill serves on the Learning and Achievement Committee and the Full Governing Body.  He is is responsible for making sure leaders are monitoring reading, writing, maths, science and language through Year 6 and throughout the school as part of the Learning and Achievement Committee. He checks the strengths and weaknesses identified by school leaders shown through the schools data. He carries out regular monitoring of actions the school has taken to address these weaknesses to ensure the school is challenged to provide the best possible education for all pupils.

Miss Katie Adams - Staff Governor 

Miss Adams key actions are providing governors with information they need about standards across the curriculum and across the school, through liaising between staff and governors.

Mrs Julie Ward - Co-opted Governor 

Mrs Ward is responsible for monitoring SMSC (Spiritual, Moral, Social and Cultural) and gathering the views from the children (pupil voice). She then feeds this information back into the learning and achievement committee to make sure the emotional needs of the pupils are met as well as their spiritual, moral, social and cultural needs.

Mr Phil Kew - Co-opted Governor 

Mr Kew serves on the Finance and General Purposes / Staff Performance and Development Committee. He is a member of the PEDAGOGS subject group which holds leaders to account for outcomes in PE, science, geography and Modern Foreign Languages. Mr Kew also provides feedback to governors about the effectiveness of educational visits, particularly residential educational visits.

Mr Michael Little - Co-opted Governor Vice Chair of the Finance and General Purposes / Staff Performance and Development Committee 

Mr Little serves on the Finance and General Purposes / Staff Performance and Development Committee. He advises the governing body on building matters and health and safety matters. He is responsible for maintaining the health and safety check list for governors and following visits to school where he meets with the site officer, Mr Heaton, Mr Little then reports back to governors about the state of the building and levels of compliance. He also advises the governing body on remedial works which feed into the premises plan and where necessary, the accessibility plan.

Mrs Sue Kew - Co-opted Governor 

Mrs Kew is the school's Business Manager. She provides monthly budget reports to the Finance and General Purposes/Staff Performance and Development Committee. She also gives detailed breakdowns of each line within the budget and prepares benchmarking data so the committee can monitor its spending against similar schools. Mrs Kew also helps governors access any training modules and produces reports showing which training has taken place not only for governors but also members of staff.

Mr David Redding - Parent Governor 

Mr Redding is responsible for monitoring reading, writing, science and language through year 3 and 4.  His role is to ensure the school is challenged to ensure the best possible education for all pupils at the school.  As well as these responsibilities, Mr Redding provides advice and support to the school's leadership team in all areas relating to information technology.




Dr. Ric Sandifer - Co-opted Governor 

Dr. Sandifer serves on the Finance and General Purposes and Staff Performance and Development Committee. He has particular expertise in data analysis and the natural environment.

Mrs Emily Nell - Parent Governor 


Mrs Nell serves on the Learning and Achievement Committee.  She is a teacher so is very knowledgable about the curriculum. 


Mrs Carrie Smith - Clerk to the Governing Body 


The Governing Body submits reports each year explaining what has happened during the year. Following parent and carer feedback after the last report, the governors’ reports will be shorter and easier to understand.

Our governors use a document from the Department for Education called 'A Competency Framework for Governance'. This is to make sure our governors are as effective as possible. You can see this document below.

Governor Committees:

We have two committees who meet each term.  These are the Learning & Achievement Committee and the Finance & General Purpose/Staff Performance & Development Committee.  Further information about these committees can be found by follow the links on the left.